To the extent practicable, in accordance with the FAIRMAPS Act (AB 849) and AB 1276, district lines will be adopted using the following criteria:

  1. Geographically contiguous districts. (Areas that meet only at the points of adjoining corners are not contiguous. Areas that are separated by water and not connected by a bridge, tunnel, or regular ferry service are not contiguous.)
  2. The geographic integrity of local neighborhoods or communities shall be respected in a manner that minimizes its division. (A “community of interest” is a population that shares common social or economic interests that should be included within a single district for purposes of its effective and fair representation.)
  3. Easily identifiable boundaries that follow natural or artificial barriers (rivers, streets, highways, rail lines, etc.).
  4. Lines shall be drawn to encourage geographic compactness in a manner that nearby areas of population are not bypassed in favor of more distant populations.
  5. Boundaries shall not be drawn for purposes of favoring or discriminating against a political party.